TOP statement on two-year mark of white supremacist insurrection at U.S. Capitol

The following statement is from Michelle Tremillo, Co-Executive Director of Texas Organizing Project (TOP), in response to the two-year mark of former President Donald Trump inciting white supremacist supporters to storm the U.S. Capitol in an attempt to overturn a national election and overthrow the federal government:

“Our nation’s democracy is still as fragile as ever now two years after the white nationalist violence that transpired at our nation’s Capitol on January 6, 2021.

“The findings of the House Select Committee on January 6 over the course of the last year were invaluable, as they exposed just how entrenched and complicit Donald Trump and far-right figures were in an elaborate plot to cling to power by reversing an entire presidential election.

“A handful of these same far-right 2020 election deniers and insurrectionist sympathizers are still wielding power as government officials and are dead set on dismantling democratic processes, weaponizing the rule of law to attack Black and Latino communities, and stifling opposition to their extremist agenda.

“We are seeing them in action right now in the halls of Congress, as they seek to extract as many concessions as they can in the House speaker’s race, with one of their main goals being to gaslight Americans about what took place on January 6, and to seek vengeance on those who spoke up to tell the truth.

“No matter our age, race, or political leanings, all in our country deserve representation from elected leaders who want to preserve our democracy, not destroy it. TOP will not stand idly by as far-right politicians try to minimize the clear-cut white supremacy we as a nation witnessed on January 6.

“We also will never forget our state’s GOP elected officials who purposely cast doubt on the legitimacy of the 2020 election results.”

Ken Paxton (Texas Attorney General)Ted Cruz (U.S. Senator)Keith Self (Texas’ 3rd Congressional District)Pat Fallon (Texas’ 4th Congressional District)Lance Gooden (Texas’ 5th Congressional District)Morgan Luttrell (Texas’ 8th Congressional District)August Pfluger (Texas’ 11th Congressional District)Ronny Jackson (Texas’ 13th Congressional District)Randy Weber (Texas’ 14th Congressional District)Monica De La Cruz (Texas’ 15th Congressional District)Pete Sessions (Texas’ 17th Congressional District)Jodey C. Arrington (Texas’ 19th Congressional District)Troy E. Nehls (Texas’ 22nd Congressional District)Beth Van Duyne (Texas’ 24th Congressional District)Roger Wiliams (Texas’ 25th Congressional District)Michael C. Burgess (Texas’ 26th Congressional District)Michael Cloud (Texas’ 27th Congressional District)John Carter (Texas’ 31st Congressional District)Brian Babin (Texas’ 36th Congressional District)


Texas Organizing Project organizes Black and Latino communities in Dallas, Harris, Bexar, and Fort Bend counties with the goal of transforming Texas into a state where working people of color have the power and representation they deserve. For more information, visit

This statement was sent out January 6, 2023.